WACO - Nine-time All-Pro NFL punter Shane Lechler and Indiana Pacers assistant general manager Kelly Krauskopf are on the Texas Sports Hall of Fame’s 2020 ballot.

The Aggies are joined on the 20-person primary ballot by former A&M football coach Jackie Sherrill. The TSHOF selection committee also announced their 12-person veteran’s ballot Tuesday.

The induction ceremony will be March 28 at the Waco Convention Center.

Lechler retired after 18 seasons in the NFL. He led the league in punting five times and is the NFL’s all-time leader in career punting average. He played for the Oakland Raiders (2000-12) and Houston Texans (2013-17). Lechler was a multi-sport standout at East Bernard before coming to A&M (1996-99), earning Associated Press All-American honors his senior season.

Krauskopf, a 1983 A&M graduate, played three seasons at A&M. Krauskopf was the president and general manager of the WNBA’s Indiana Fever from 2000-17, getting elevated to president in 2012. Krauskopf was hired by Pacers in December, becoming the NBA’s first female assistant GM.

Sherrill was 52-28-1 at A&M from 1982-89, winning three straight Southwest Conference titles and two Cotton Bowls. He also coached at Washington State, Pittsburgh and Mississippi State, going 180-120-4.

Sherrill was on last year’s ballot, while Lechler and Krauskopf are on the ballot for the first time.

The TSHOF selection committee also voted to add six media members to the Hall of Fame with that induction ceremony taking place in the fall of this year or in 2020. The class includes Charean Williams who graduated from Texas A&M in 1986. Williams was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame last summer.

Williams has covered the Cowboys since 1999 for the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and Pro Football Talk. She has covered 25 Super Bowls and seven Olympic Games. Williams worked at The Eagle from 1987-92.

Williams was the 24th president of the Pro Football Writers Association of America (2009-10) and the organization’s first female leader.  She won the organization’s Dick McCann Award last year.  Williams received the 2017 Blackie Sherrod Award from the Dallas Sports Commission for lifetime achievement covering sports in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. She was inducted into Texas A&M’s Former Journalism Student Association’s Hall of Honor in 2012.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.